Reviews for “A Promise Given”!

The mix of sleuthing and aristocratic life pairs well with Rhys Bowen’s Royal Spyness series.” – Booklist

“Series fans will cheer the beginning of Clive and Henrietta’s private investigation business in an entry with welcome echoes of Pride and Prejudice.” – Publishers Weekly

This is a beautiful story with strong themes of romance, family intrigue, and investigation. The writing is gorgeous and reflects the cultural and historical setting. Michelle Cox’s novel is filled with deeply moving passages and emotionally charged scenes. The characters are as sophisticated as they are relatable and the plot is designed to make for the perfect page-turner.” – Readers Favorite

What Cox captures so perfectly in Henrietta’s character is what a marriage would have been like at this time for an independent woman like Henrietta. We ride this rollercoaster of nerve and doubt up to the anticipated wedding night and fall even more deeply in love with Clive right along with Henrietta. The passion that is plastered all over the pages of A Promise Given is truly remarkable and a testament to the world that Cox has been able to create.” – Paperback Paris

“Many of the book’s scenes could easily read like a Jane Austin novel as Cox possesses that distinct ability to plant a reader directly into a specific room or landscape. The two partners, Henrietta and Clive, make a perfect sleuthing team that left me wanting more.” – Reader Views

The romance between Clive and Henrietta is the true highlight of this story.   Readers will find plenty of material for future volumes in this new adventure!” – Online Bookclub.org

Cox’s eye for historical detail remains sharp…A pleasant, escapist diversion.” – Kirkus

Light romance with witty writing, while still maintaining a somber and serious story, this book is a delight.”  – IBPA

Fans of Henrietta and Inspector Howard will delight in Michelle Cox’s latest novel. Romantic and atmospheric, A Promise Given offers an intriguing glimpse into 1930s Chicago, by weaving in authentic period details and exploring the social tensions of the day. The unlikely pairing of the Howards―two characters from very different worlds―provides a tender love story.” – Susanna Calkins, author of the Lucy Campion Historical Mysteries

This addicting historical fiction novel will have you wishing you could have experienced 1930s Chicago.”  – Buzzfeed

Michelle Cox is a talented wordsmith who knows how to flawlessly write crime and mystery. Not only is Cox a fantastic writer who knows how to build suspense throughout her book, but she is also a tremendous author because she knows to capture her reader’s attention and entertain them from beginning to end.” – Red Headed Book Lover

Ms. Cox takes great care in setting the scenes for her characters. It could be the denizens of a dance club or a party in the toniest house in the city. As the reader you will feel as if you are there with the characters as all is so well depicted. I am really looking forward to the next installment in this endearing series.” – Broken Tepee Book blogger

A Promise Given is a well-told story which had me immersed and wanting more. Well done!” – Windy City Reviews

A story full of family secrets, twisted plots, and a striking English setting, A Promise Given is the perfect novel for fans of Sherlock Holmes.” – 7 Must-Read Novels from Inspiring Women Writers – Brit + Co. 7 

10 Historical Novels to Kick Back with this Spring – Culturalist

5 Highly Anticipated Historical Fiction Reads by Authors You Love – BuzzFeed

“Enjoyable, escapist read with some truths to savor.” – Historical Novel Society

16 Me-Time Spring Reads for Working Moms” – WorkingMother.com